A long-winded introduction

Hi there. My name is Christina, and I am a foodie. To me, cooking is an art form. I find it to be very relaxing and a great creative outlet. This blog is a foodie’s journey with Paleo, Zone, and Crossfit. Last year I started doing Crossfit workouts and was introduced to Paleo, and it turned my culinary world upside down.

Many in the Crossfit community eat either a Paleo diet, a Zone diet, or a hybrid of the two. When I first heard about Paleo and Zone, they both sounded totally crazy to me. I disliked the fervent discussions that my fellow athletes had about whole grains. I couldn’t imagine a world without grains, beer, pasta, rice, chips, crackers, bread….the list of things with grains in them goes on and on, and I found it so daunting to try to make a decent meal. I won’t go into the details of what is strict Paleo or Zone, because if you are reading this, you are probably already well-versed on the topic. Let’s just say, I was one of those people that had the “what in the hell am I supposed to eat” people.

Well, my opinion is a total 180 now. I have been cooking Paleo for a month now, it’s super easy, and I can still get creative with my recipes. I bought the Everyday Paleo recipe book, and that made all the difference for me. I found the author’s personal journey inspiring, and I liked how her approach to recipes weren’t food as fuel. I started the first week, following her meal plan to a “T”, but changed most of the recipes to be more spicy. The following weeks I would throw in one new recipe from Everyday Paleo, and make up the other recipes myself.

I’ve been doing Crossfit workouts for a year and 4 months now, and have never felt healthier and stronger in my life. I have been eating “clean” for about 6 months now, and have been gluten free for a month. I was off of dairy for 3 weeks, and thankfully when I reintroduced it I didn’t have a bad reaction. We don’t keep milk in the house, but I do use butter and cheese from time to time. I will include cheese in some of my recipes, but if you are strict Paleo, you would just remove that ingredient, and cook as usual.

When I first started Crossfit I was hungry all the time, and my idea of a healthy snack before working out was goldfish crackers, or peanut butter toast with a glass of milk. I felt lethargic, didn’t sleep well, was unbelievably sore, and could barely get through a workout. The workouts literally pushed me to the edge mentally and physically. Now I have more energy than I’ve had in years, I usually sleep great, and I’m so much stronger. I actually feel energized after a workout, don’t feel the need to snack beforehand, and I’m not “bonking” while cooking dinner.

My intention with this blog is to post recipes that I think are worth sharing, to share some of the great workouts that my husband designs, and to share some of my athletic/physical accomplishments. I found the idea of switching to Paleo incredibly daunting, and I’m hoping that some of my recipes will help other people make the switch. My personal goals are to continue to grow stronger, leaner and healthier.

Leave a Reply

